About | General Information | Events Calendar | Membership | Board of Governors | Links

Recent News
2008 Book Prize Call for Entries
The Historic Winslow House Association will offer a $250 prize for the best book published in 2007 concerning the interaction of early New England (1620–1852) with the wider Atlantic world. Eligible topics include (but are not limited to) exploration, religion, culture, trade, politics, imperial structure, and settler/native relations. Books on the Winslow family or Daniel Webster are particularly welcome. Biographies are eligible; essay collections and documentary editions are not. For consideration, please submit five (5) copies of the book to:

The Historic Winslow House Association
634 Careswell Street
Marshfield, MA 02050-5623.

The deadline for entries is February 15, 2008. Questions? Email for further information.

2007 Book Prize Winner Announced
Best-selling and award-winning writer Nathaniel Philbrick is the author of the acclaimed work Mayflower: A Story of Courage, Community, and War. This book was a finalist for the 2007 Pulitzer Prize in History, and is this year's pick for the Historic Winsow House Association 2007 Book Prize.

Visit Nathaniel Philbrick's Web Site
Buy Books by Nathaniel Philbrick on Amazon.com

Photo Credit: Ellen Warner, The New York Times

Upcoming Events
Town Hall Officials' Open House
Friday, May 16

Marshfield Day
Saturday, May 17

Annual Meeting and Members Reception
Friday, June 27

Family Film Night
Saturday, July 5

Clam Bake
Saturday, July 12

Shipwreck Dinner & Lecture
Saturday, July 19
Colin Woodard, author of The Republic of Pirates...

Tavern Night
Saturday, August 9

Tuesday, August 19
Dr. Michael Kryzanek of Bridgewater State College will discuss past and present presidential elections...

Art Auction and Fundraiser
Saturday, September 13

Turkey Dinner
Saturday, September 27

Coffee Series
Tuesday, June 24
Eric Jay Dolin
Author of Leviathan: The History of Whaling in America...
Tuesday, July 8
John Horrigan
Historical meteorology lecture...
Tuesday, July 22
Philip McFarland
Author of Loves of Harriet Beecher Stowe.
Tuesday, August 5
Jane Kamensky
Author of The Exchange Artist.

Java Fridays
Friday, May 30
Eva LaPlante
Author of American Jezebel about the life of Anne Hutchinson, and Salem Witch Judge: The Life and Repentance of Samuel Sewall...
Friday, June 6
Mark Schmidt
Discussion of Germany's 'Enigma Machine' and its role at the invasion of Normandy...
Friday, June 13
Bruce Watson
Author of Saco & Vanzetti...
Friday, June 20
Christopher Price
Author of The Blueprint: A Study of the New England Patriots...
Friday, July 11
Stephen Puleo
Author of The Boston Italians...
Thursday, July 17 (Special Day)
Jennifer Glanville
Representing Boston Beer Company, makers of Samuel Adams® brand, she will discuss the history of beer and brewing in New England; beer tasting included...
Friday, July 25
Andrew Holman
Professor of History and Varsity Hockey Coach at Bridgewater State College, he will lecture on the history of hockey...
Friday, August 15
John Root
A Gaslight Era musical program...

About | General Information | Events Calendar | Membership | Board of Governors | Links

© 2007 The Historic Winslow House Association, Inc. All rights reserved.
The information on this server is subject to change without notice and does not represent
a commitment on the part of The Historic Winslow House Association, Inc. in the future.
This site designed and maintained by Jonathan Ralton and hosted by Page Crafters. Last updated 12/19/2007 10:26 PM EST.